Mount Ellen Golf Club was formed in 1904 with the first AGM held on 20th November 1904 in Muirhead Public Hall. The course was originally leased from local farm Auldyards
Over the first five years the membership consisted of around 90 Gents, 60 Ladies and youths.
Around 1920 local steelwork firm Smith & McLean purchased the land of Auldyards farm and leasing to the Golf Club. The purchase of the land allowed the course to be extended to 18 holes with the opening ceremony taking place on Saturday 20th May 1920 . By this time the membership stood at 231 Gents, and 150 Ladies and Youths.
In 1976 the club moved to Johnstone House which was extended for a new lounge and ladies locker At the same time club was able to purchase some additional land the course was revised with a new first and extended finishing hole.
The club celebrated its centenary in 2004 and competed against Kirkcaldy G.C who also celebrated their centenary that year, with home and away team matches for the Centenary Cup.
The new clubhouse constructed in 2008 brings the members back to the original clubhouse location following our short sojourn to Johnstone House. With the clubhouse located in the centre of the course it now commands 360o panoramic views of the course and the Campsie Hills.
The members bar and the function suite are bright and colourful rooms situated on the 1st floor of the clubhouse, both enjoy breathtaking views and sunsets over the golf courses and the Campsie Hills beyond.
It is the perfect location to complete your day's golf, have a meal and take some refreshments.